Nostalgia and a Half

It’s perfectly normal to play cereal box CD roms at the age of 20, right?

cdrom cerealI don’t know what’s gotten into me lately but I’ve been having a craving for games that you used to get for free when you bought a specific box of cereal. It’s probably something that a specific age group remembers as they definitely don’t have this concept anymore so most of you might be like “what the heck are you talking about?”

I do know that if you mention Freddi Fish, Roller Coaster Tycoon or Pyjama Sam to anyone in my age group, their eyes will immediately light up and tell you how awesome they were and how much fun they had playing them. I played them so many times that I had games memorized and could solve every single combination of scenarios within 5 minutes.

But as we grew up, cereal boxes moved on to the next thing and computers stopped being able to run these old games and they just sat in forgotten boxes in homes everywhere. Not that we minded, we were probably busy with Tamagotchis or Webkinz or whatever trend was happening at that moment.freddi fish

And now, at 20 years of age, I actually put in the effort to research if there’s any way that I can satisfy the urge to help Freddi Fish solve her mystery (yep, she was a girl!) and was overjoyed to discover that they can all be bought on Steam!

So now embarrassingly enough, I have an account for something a lot of people use for intense and hardcore video games just so that I can play games created for 10 year olds. It’s really fun explaining that one.

But I’m happy as a clam, I just spent the last 2 hours completely owning at Roller Coaster Tycoon and couldn’t think of a better way to spend a Saturday night.

 

One thought on “Nostalgia and a Half

Leave a Reply

