The Curse of Wasting Time on Your Own

Or, Karen complains about nothing important!

So I’m living the office life 37.5 hours a week for the past 14 weeks. I went through the phase of being in awe and excited about everything from attending a teleconference to having a drawer with my own stapler. We’re past that, although I am going to miss my plethora of sticky notes.

I’m sure everyone’s on the same page with me on this when I say that it’s impossible for me to work at 100% efficiency for the entire 8 hours that I’m here. Sometimes you just need to click away from what you’re doing and take a walk or check facebook.

The thing is, we all pretty much pretend we’re working all the time, I’ve seen many a fast window change or two screens with one having a buzzfeed article and the other a random excel sheet. And that’s totally fine I know these coworkers of mine are competent and have been powering through their work during the day also.

The people that I’m envious of are the ones that like chatting as a form of straying from their work. I have been in a conversation about firefighters for almost half an hour one time because the dude I was talking to was so effective at continuing the conversation. I see those people that bring over a paper to another section of the office then stay to talk about their vacation and this tv show and what they’re having for lunch which is great and the only way to ever got to know who you’re working with in the long run but it’s so subtle at wasting time.

If I was on youtube straight up just laughing at what I’m watching for 20 entire minutes, that’s extremely different than standing up and talking with the person across from your cubicle for the same duration.

“But Karen, nothing’s stopping you from also doing that”, you say. Yes, there is something stopping me and it’s that I’d rather be working than attempting to converse for a long amount of time a) with people I don’t know very well and b) when I’m tired and am actually wanting a break. It doesn’t make me energized in the least to have a vague discussion about weekend plans which truly does suck because I feel like those types of people can get away with so much more!

That concludes my non-issue at work today, back to trying to explain the math I did to people who don’t care about math‼

Leave a Reply

