May Masterpost

BOOKS

ready player oneReady Player OneErnest Cline

I cannot rave about this book any more just read my review and then read this book. I implore you.

 

 

The Rules For Disappearing – Ashley Elston

the rules for disappearingThis was a pretty good read, man! It was a little over the top but I enjoyed it. The premise is that there’s a family in the witness protection program that keeps moving from place to place and our protagonist is a teenage girl so you can see where this is going she gets attached to a boy even though she knows she’ll probably be leaving without a trace. //that was a really great run on sentence// To tell the truth I really don’t blame her since I basically fell in love with Ethan too. The whole time you’re thinking one thing and that it’s going to be a straightforward storyline but buyer beware, it gets so much bigger than you imagined.

My only annoyance was that she got to pick her new name ever time she changed identities and I really didn’t like any of her choices. Like none. At all. Gosh you’d think I’d be easier to please with that many chances.

Unlucky CharmsAdam Rex

unlucky charmsOh Adam Rex, I want to love everything that comes from your brain but I just can’t get myself to love this series. There’s too many characters to keep track of and everything is just a bit too odd. Which is weird considering The True Meaning of Smekday is my absolute favourite book and is also by him and is also quite weird but in that one it just works and in this one it just makes you cringe a lil bit. I’m making out that it was horrible but I’ve read way worse this book was cute and funny sometimes. Very funny actually, there are so many little parts in the book that you’re like “what the heck” except in a really good way.

This review was all over the place I’m sorry.

MOVIES

bridesmaidsBridesmaids – I was super disappointed with this movie. Like I had heard amazing things about it being hilarious and great and awesome and all that happened was a whole lot of second-hand embarrassment. I kept waiting for the awkward, petty stuff to end but it never did. I guess it’s a different kind of humour than I’m into because I could tell the parts that were supposed to make me laugh. Really the only things I liked were the car scene (where she keeps driving by breaking laws) and Megan’s job.

 

Captain-America-The-Winter-SoldierCaptain America: The Winter Soldier – Gotta admit it, I only watched this movie for Bucky. I wasn’t going to watch it at first since fighty action movies aren’t my thing but then it had been out for a month and tumblr was going crazy with gifs and photosets from the movie. Basically that was what introduced me to our villain who kinda looks very nice underneath that hair and mask and has a tragic backstory so that we don’t have to hate him! And all this I learned before I saw it from all the discussion on tumblr. Spoilers don’t annoy me so it’s all good. But yeah, the movie was okay, not going to be my fave. It was just funny watching it and noticing all the the parts I had technically already seen before.

Driving_Miss_Daisy_Driving Miss Daisy – This is a cute old movie that my mom decided we all needed to watch as a family because it had Morgan Freeman in it. It was kind of anti-climactic like nothing intense happened and then it ended but I guess maybe we can blame it on the fact that it’s an old movie perhaps. it was adorable though, I’ll give it that.

 

flippedFlipped – I actually discovered this movie from a website that gives you movie suggestion for when you don’t know what to decide on. Pretty nifty. Anyways this is a movie set in the 50s about a girl and a boy. The boy’s family moves in across the street from the girl when they’re both about 9 and, from the beginning, she’s infatuated. Of course, he wants nothing to do with her. They grow older and soon – well not too soon, she spends a good number of years mooning over him – she realizes that he’s not what she thinks he is and *poof* becomes over him. This is just around the time when he wakes up and realizes she’s pretty frickin awesome. (I liked her right away, he was a lame0 in my opinion) Won’t spoil the ending but it starts with “p” and end with “redictable”. The cool thing about this film is that you get to see the story from both perspectives!

free-birdsFree Birds – Literally my mom came home from work and one of the first things she told me was that we were most definitely going to watch this movie. I had seen the trailer and it just looked so lame so I did the obvious thing and groaned about it for a bit but obviously it was just for show since her mind was set. I was right and it was lame but it could’ve been lamer so there’s that. I caught most of the plot twists before they happened except for the idiotic one at the end AND there’s the fact that their time travel logic literally made no sense at all. Like they had Harry Potter 3 reasoning where everything already happened and you can’t change it (with the Great Turkey) and then they had the changing kind (with them saving Thanksgiving from being a turkey-eating holiday and all) and they had one part where the future selves all came back to talk to the present self and they didn’t know what was going to happen like where the heck did you come from you have to know! So yeah, flawed time travel logic is a real pet peeve of mine apparently. Also not saying this movie was utterly disgusting there were some pretty hilarious parts in it like the fight/dance and also Steve but overall y’know it was lame.

gbfGBF – What a cool movie. This was a pretty interesting concept that I hadn’t really seen explored anywhere. I can’t even say it was over the top because it literally was supposed to be that way. It was about a boy in high school who was unceremoniously outed from the closet as the first gay guy at his school and was instantly snatched up by the three clique heads of the school to become their new accessory. It teaches us a lot of things about how everyone is a person and deserves to be respected and has some hilarious parts and some pretty strange parts but overall it’s very good.

star-trek-into-darknessStar Trek Into Darkness – More like Star Trek Why The Heck Is There No Colon. It was really awkward because I was watching this for the first time (as in first time watching anything Star Trek related) with someone who LOVED Star Trek and everything about it. You know what they do, you and I have most likely done it to someone else, they stare at you during the important parts cause they’re checking for your reaction. They want you to love it as much as they do. It’s actually stressful since I’m the type of person that internalizes every emotion unless there’s something funny happening and we can agree that Star Trek was not meant to be funny. But yeah this is my roundabout way of saying I didn’t really like it, everything was too serious and there was too many explosions and near death moments that they shouldn’t even have survived so yeah. Even Benedict Cumberbatch couldn’t salvage it.

X-Men-Days-of-FutureX-Men: Days of Future Past – Came in blind, came out loving it. Here’s the review.

 

 

 

xmen first class

X-Men: First Class – I am in love with Nicholas Hoult, ‘scuse me, Hank McCoy. So smart and adorable… Anyway not the point here. I am a major fan of origin stories!! So this was basically the beginning of Xavier’s School for Gifted Youngsters and there was young Charles and young Erik and it was just very nice to see. The montage where they find all the mutants was pretty cool and I almost wanted there to be more but I know it’d be overwhelming. Just seeing all the mutants show up in Cerebro made me want to learn each and every mutation.

X-Men-2000X-Men – WHY IS ROGUE SO ANNOYING. All she does is stare I hate people that just stare instead of doing things go hang out with Frodo if you’re going to do that. Fell in love with the x-men though. Love the idea of a school and having powers and being peaceful while trying to defend themselves against the government.

 

x2-movie-posterX2: X-Men United – Okay one question is this blue Nightcrawler the same red guy that was on Shaw’s team in First Class? (Okay, did a quick google and nope the red guy is Azazel and he’s the biological father of Nightcrawler. The more you know.) Loved how Magneto escaped his plastic prison in this one, I always thought that that could be a thing and then they actually used it so woo!

 

x men the last standX-Men: The Last Stand – DUMB. Why the heck would you end this trilogy with killing off like 3 major characters and then depowering the others. This is a superhero movie they’re supposed to survive and do something super cool instead to save the day. Gosh darnit. I can’t imagine watching this in theatres and not having the relief of there being more movies to undo the stupidity of this one.

 

MUSIC

A-PunkVampire Weekend

Hey Brother – Avicii

Mine – Taylor Swift

Northern Downpour – Panic! at the Disco

Potential Breakup Song – Aly & AJ    ((hello 2007))

Shark Attack – Grouplove

That Green Gentleman (Things Have Changed) – Panic! at the Disco

Things We Lost In The Fire – Bastille

Tongue Tied – Grouplove

 

January | February | March | April

3 thoughts on “May Masterpost

Leave a Reply

