2048 (hours wasted)

First there was Flappy Bird, now there’s 2048.

And I have to say, I’m actually a fan of this one! Unlike some other app fads, it actually takes some skill and thinking to achieve your goal.

It has a super simple concept: just move the tiles around, making the similar times mesh into one tile that’s twice as big concerning the number amount on it. The game is aptly named 2048 because you win when you get a time with 2^11 on it!

I’ve seen it being played everywhere by tons of people. In class obviously on people’s laptops in front of me, by my friend who told me it was dumb and a waste of my time when I first started playing it and legitimately by my camp leader while she was in labour. For real.

I know the question that’s on all of your minds, namely, have I personally beat the game yet? How dare you doubt me! Of course I have! It took some figuring out of a plausible strategy but now I can get to 512 quickly without breaking a sweat. I’ve beaten the game exactly 3 times (although two of those times were on mobile) and here’s my screenshot to prove it:

Screenshot (92)

 

Have you guys heard of this game? Do you think it’s dumb or are you as obsessed as me?

Leave a Reply

