Oddly Specific Book Recs (OSBR #1)

In case you didn’t know, I read a lot.

I love to read and I love discussing books with people that also love to read. It’s one of the few conversation topics I can actually go on about for a really long time.

Another thing I like is connecting said other person with a book that I think they’d really enjoy. I might have just read something and just want every single person on the planet to also read it (aka that time I read Blood Red Road by Moira Young. If you haven’t GO! Go NOW!) but other times, if I know the person well enough, then it’s really fun for me to rack my brain for the actual perfect book for them. The one that just matches up with so many of their interests. Like a book soul mate.

Thus this series on my blog is born. It won’t be a regular thing like my Reasons to Smile, Masterposts or Beautiful Boys but whenever I stumble onto a perfect pairing of human and page, then I won’t hesitate to talk about it.

cinder - marissa meyerThe book is Cinder by Marissa Meyer and the person is my friend in Biomed Mechanical Engineering.

The number one similarity is that she’s really interested in prosthetics for different parts of the human body like heart valves or hip replacements and anything of that sort and Cinder, the main character, is a cyborg. That is the literal same thing, just a lot more advanced. Of course, the science behind Cinder’s superhuman body is fictional but it is backed by research done by the author on potential things that humans could someday achieve.

Then there’s that tiny connection that she’s in a type of mechanical engineering and Cinder is a mechanic.

And finally, my friend is a really rational, cuts straight to the chase, no nonsense person so if the romance in a book was the central theme with all the pining and overthinking she’d probably have a fit. In Cinder, of course there’s some romance, it is after all in the YA genre and a retelling of Cinderella, but it’s definitely not the most important aspect. There’s the whole equality issue and stopping someone evil from taking over the world business to take care of as well.

The verdict is actually in: she loved it! I lent her my copy yesterday and she was asking for the second book in the series today. I am a miracle worker. Just kidding, loved the fact that she loved it, dreading to tell her the news that the series isn’t finished yet so she’ll have to wait a while after finishing Cress to read the last book.

One thought on “Oddly Specific Book Recs (OSBR #1)

Leave a Reply

